We all know that it is the season for holiday drinks at Starbucks (insert annoying Red Cup joke here). I have taken it upon myself to try every single holiday drink and review it so you don’t have to.

Peppermint Mocha

5 Stars: Quite literally “Christmas in a Cup”. The comfort of hot chocolate with a smooth touch of peppermint that just makes you feel like you are cuddled up at home, waiting for Santa. And you can’t forget the shot of caffeine that makes you tolerable during the early hours.

Chestnut Praline Latte

4 Stars: Makes you think of that “chestnuts roasting on an open fire” song. Exactly the right kind of caramel flavor mixed with nuts that you need to get you going in the morning. This drink is perfect for anytime of the year, but there is a hint of the holidays mixed inside. Reminds me more of Fall than Winter.

Caramel Brulee Latte

2 Stars: I was overly excited about this one because it sounds very fancy, like a Creme Brulee. I put the frothy concoction to my lips only to discover that it tastes the same as a regular Caramel Latte. I must give props to Starbucks for using wording to trick the customer into thinking it is something different, but I did feel cheated.

Caramel Apple Spice

5 Stars: Quite easily my favorite non-coffee Starbucks hot drink. The whipped cream on top sounds strange at first, but it actually makes it. The caramel mixes perfectly with the apple cider and the whipped cream glazed over it just completes the array of tastes going on inside your mouth. One sip will have you jumping through crunchy leaves and dreaming of colored leaves.

Pumpkin Spice

You all are going to hate me, but 1 Star. Just not for me.

Toasted Graham Latte

2 Stars: Good, but really nothing that stands out. Tastes very similar to a regular latte.

*Disclaimer: I find these holiday drinks (and every other Starbucks specialty drink) to be extremely sweet. They use way too much syrup and it is almost impossible for me to drink a regular one. For each drink, I got half the syrup they normally use.

 

 

